Thai WorldSBK 2021 results – Cycle News


Gordon ritchie | 20 November 2021

All WorldSBK races have been postponed to Sunday due to poor weather conditions.


WorldSBK Superpole

Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team) maintained his solid form on Friday until Superpole qualifying and beat championship rival Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team) to second on the starting grid for the potentially decisive race for today’s championship.

Razgatlioglu was completely 0.324 seconds faster than Rea as he entered a whole new time frame with a time of 1: 32.877.

The big beasts of the 2021 Championship were in great shape as Scott Redding ( Racing – Ducati) placed third, just 0.055 seconds behind Rea.

Toprak Razgatlioglu took pole in Thailand, but a two-wheeler, not one…

Garrett Gerloff (GRT Yamaha) took first place on the grid on the second row, in fourth place, with the second factory Yamaha of Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha WorldSBK Team) fifth and the best BMW rider Tom Sykes ( BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) sixth.

Axel Bassani (MotoCorsa Racing Ducati) finished seventh on the best private Ducati, Alvaro Bautista eighth and Michael van der Mark (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) ninth, despite suspected food poisoning. A fine performance from Leandro Mercado (MIE Racing Honda Team) placed him in tenth, one place ahead of Chaz Davies (Team GoEleven Ducati), who is expected to retire soon.

Neither Leon Haslam (HRC Honda) nor Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team) reached the Superpole, Haslam being declared unfit the morning after a recent operation and Lowes falling in FP3 and suffering from a separation of the AC joint from the ‘right shoulder.

2021 Thai WorldSBK — Superpole Results

1 Toprak Razgatlioglu (Yam) 1: 32.877s
2 Jonathan Réa (Kaw) + 0.324s
3 Scott redding (Duke) + 0.379s
4 Garret Gerloff (Yam) + 0.668s
5 Andrea Locatelli (Yam) + 0.711s

WorldSSP Race 1

The 16th podium of Orelac Racing VerdNatura Kawasaki rider Raffaele De Rosa’s career was his first race victory, as the Italian veteran withstood pressure from new World Champion Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) on the final lap. This was De Rosa’s 89th WorldSSP race.

An odd contest in some ways saw Federico Caricasulo (VFT Yamaha) third, looking like he could win until Aegerter came out ahead in the final laps and Caricasulo’s chase against De Rosa came to an end.

Results 2021 Thai WorldSBK Victoire De Rosa
Raffaele De Rosa won his first career WorldSSP victory.

A few raindrops fell in Mandalika as the 19-lap race approached, but it remained mostly dry until the rain started to fall harder on lap three, wetting the track and the goals of the television cameras.

Aegerter won the Superpole contest at Mandalika and took the lead early, but Caricasulo passed him in the first round. Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGo Team) was the leader at the start of the rain.

Local rider Hendra Pratama came first to change the tires, but the leaders continued with their slick options as the rains did not get heavier.

De Rosa took the lead ahead of Gonzalez as the leader regrouped in the rain, using himself as brake markers.

As conditions changed over the course of the race, fortunes changed with them, but the only constant towards the end was the great pace of Aegerter, who approached 0.105 seconds from another. race victory of the 2021 season.

Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) was the first rider not to stand on the podium, with former potential winner Gonzalez fifth. Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha) finished sixth and Can Öncü (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) seventh.

Randy Krummenacher (CM Racing Yamaha), Hannes Soomer (Kallio Racing Yamaha) and Peter Sebestyen (Evan Bros WorldSSP Yamaha) completed the top ten.

2021 Thai WorldSSP Results – First Race

1 Raffaele De Rosa (Kaw)
2 Dominique Aegerter (Yam) + 0.105s
3 Federico Caricasulo (Yam) + 3.108s
4 Jules Cluzel (Yam) + 3.671s
5 Manuel González (Yam) + 4.312s



World Championship leader Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx) dominated the opening sessions at the all new spectacularly landscaped site of Mandalika, eventually finishing with a new best lap time of 1: 34.985.

No one could touch Razgatlioglu’s pace and confidence but as if he had been scripted by the overlords of the WorldSBK Final, Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team) finished second after a slow start to the morning session.

Thai WorldSBK Toprak 2021 Results
Fastest Friday for Toprak.

Garrett Gerloff (GRT Yamaha) trained a lot at Mandalika like everyone else – none before today – and it maybe helped him to finish third.

Alvaro Bautista (HRC Honda) climbed to fourth place on the 4,300 km circuit, Scott Redding ( Racing – Ducati) fifth.

Honda’s effort was solid at the start of the last weekend of the 2021 season, as Leon Haslam (HRC Honda) was sixth, ahead of Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team) who fell early in FP2.

Andrea Locatelli (Pata Yamaha), Michael van der Mark (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) and Axel Bassani (MotoCorsa Racing Ducati) completed the top ten places.


Randy Krummenacher (CM Racing Yamaha) set the fastest time on the brand new Mandalika circuit in Indonesia after two sessions of action in hot and humid conditions.

The brand new track surface was already breaking in some spots, but otherwise riders enjoyed the mix of smooth turns and sometimes tight bobby pins. The track temperatures reached 56 ° C in FP2.

Results 2021 Thai WorldSBK Krummenacher
Krummenacher clocked Friday’s best WorldSSP time.

Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha), the new World Champion, placed second in the general classification. Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura Kawasaki) was the best Kawasaki rider, in third place, 0.362 seconds behind Krummenacher.

Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha ParkinGo Team) started fast and finished fourth of the day, ahead of Federico Caricasulo (Biblion Iberian Yamaha Motoxracing) and the winner of the race in Argentina, Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha).

Philipp Öttl (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) finished seventh, one place ahead of Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Corse Clienti).

Steven Odendaal (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha) and his teammate Peter Sebestyen round out the top ten.

Another practice session, qualifying for the Superpole then the first race for the 21 riders on the Mandalika grid.

For more WorldSBK news and results, click here


Comments are closed.