Bangkok Art Biennale reveals the list of artists for the 2022 edition –


The Bangkok Art Biennale, one of the best exhibitions of its kind in Asia, has named 20 of the artists lined up to participate in its next edition, which is expected to open next October. Entitled “CHAOS: CALM”, the show will explore how various communities have been affected by the pandemic.

Among the artists who will participate are members of the Thai art scene. Arin Rungjang, who represented Thailand at the 2013 Venice Biennale, will be featured, as will Nawin Nuthong, founding member of Bangkok’s alternative space Speedy Grandma, known for supporting emerging artists in a city without a strong market ecosystem. The schemer named Uninspired by Current Events, whose digital works are published on a Facebook page with more than 140,000 subscribers, will also display work in the exhibition.

Related Articles

The Bangkok Art Biennale stood out among a string of new Thai biennials, in part by mixing newcomers with top-notch offerings, and this edition, the third of the biennial, seeks to continue that trend. Performance artist Marina Abramović, who has competed in the last two editions, will be back, this time with the goal of “finding happiness and power through art,” as she described in a statement.

Stars like Jitish Kallat, Kennedy Yanko, Jake and Dinos Chapman, Chiharu Shiota and Xu Zhen are also expected to participate in the Bangkok Art Biennale in 2022.

The exhibition is curated by Nigel Hurst, Director of Exhibitions at IMG; curator Loredana Pazzini-Paraccianill Jirat Ratthawongjirakul, director of the VER gallery in Bangkok; and Chomwan Weeraworawit, founder of the Bangkok-based consulting firm Mysterious Ordinary.

The 20 artists announced so far follow below.

Marina Abramović (Serbia / USA)
Jake and Dinos Chapman (UK)
Jarasporn Chumsri (Thailand)
Tiffany Chung (Vietnam / USA)
Jitish Kallat (India)
Kimsooja (Republic of Korea / United States)
Rachel Kneebone (United Kingdom)
Robert Mapplethorpe (United States)
Nawin Nuthong (Thailand)
Be Takerng Pattanopas (Thailand)
Amanda Phingbodhipakkiya (Thailand / Indonesia / USA)
Alwin Reamillo (The Philippines)
Arin Rungjang (Thailand)
Pinaree Sanpitak (Thailand)
Chiharu Shiota (Japan)
Wantanee Siripattananuntakul (Thailand)
Blueberry Tibayrenc (France)
Uninspired by current events (Thailand)
Xu Zhen (China)
Kennedy Yanko (United States)


Comments are closed.